The beginnings of the ukulele

I’d originally started this quest to learn the ukulele because I was bored. It was winter in Rexburg, Idaho, and me with out a car to entertain myself. I also thought this could be one of the infamous hobbies that I seemed to draw a blank when I get asked “what’s your favorite hobby?” on a date.

This is Hidden Valley, the company that I got her from is called Ranch so I thought her named seemed fitting. I turned to youtube as I typically do and look up all the songs that I wanted to play.

As my fingers calloused over, I started to get the hang of it. I’m not even close to where I thought I would be. I guess that’s what I get for having high expectations. Aside from that, I’m getting really good and dare I say that I’ve even mastered the dreaded “down, down, up, down” strum?

This strumming pattern is the hardest thing for my musically inclined brain could handle. I was convinced that I would only be good at down, up strums and nothing more. But I guess miracles can happen!

I have learned a lot about myself while learning how to play the ukulele. It inspired me to learn about song writing and how to write my own music. Which is something that I wanted to do as a kid.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started